Looking back

Looking out at  Khaolak from the songthaew on the way to school.

Looking out at Khaolak from the songthaew on the way to school.

I only have a few weeks left teaching at Thungmaprauwittaya in Thailand.  Shortly I will be taking a break in Laos and then heading for New Delhi and MacLeod Ganj in India.  My flights for India  have been booked and today my electronic visa application was lodged. The fact that I am going to leave here soon is sinking in.

This term at the school has been a fantastic experience for me.  Having never taught high school students before, there has been a lot to learn (and there is plenty left). Further, the students are considered to be disadvantaged as they live in a rural area and mostly come from poor families. As in many classrooms, there has been a wide range of proficiency levels and I have tried to ensure that every student can achieve a learning outcome in every lesson. It is easier to see progress in the smaller elective classes, but some of the best moments have been the simple ones, like seeing boys who normally sit at the back and just survive until the end of the English classes getting to experience success through group activities or by finishing their worksheets without copying from others.

Looking back, I know I have given my best.  The students have participated in a wide range of lessons and have experienced different teaching approaches. Every lesson has been tailored to the students and I have spent countless hours just reflecting and thinking about what to do next and how.

I will only be here for one term and I know my impact will be minimal, but I hope that this has made a small difference in the students’ English journeys.  I know without a doubt though that the time with the students has had a positive impact on my development as a teacher and is something to be treasured.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Looking back

  1. So lovely hearing from you, Joanne – it sounds as if you are having an amazing time with lots of fascinating experiences (and plenty of hard work too!). You mentioned dictogloss a while back – I tried it with my class as a result – a very good activity! Thanks for the idea! All the best in India!

    Anna

  2. Good to hear from you. Anna. I’m pleased you tried the dictogloss. I love sitting back and observing the students collaborate. Dictations have a lot going for them. Have you tried running dictations? Adults love them too.

Leave a Reply

